Backpacking in Guatemala

I finished college at UC Davis, and took off as fast as I could.  I backpacked for a year, and then landed a job on the Galapagos Islands teaching little humans, and during my time off got to explore much of the islands and the mainland.  I squeezed in a trip to Japan and then to Australia before relocating to Guatemala, which has become my home since.  I counted once, I think I’ve lived in 10 countries throughout my life.  Something like that.

img_0363

Somewhere in the middle of the Pacific… Galápagos ❤️

But since I’ve grown roots in this beautiful Antigua, I hadn’t really done much “backpacking.”  Don’t get me wrong, I travel often, especially to meet with artisans, but this leisurely “traveling for the sake of traveling,” not so much.  And so I took a little vacation at the end of 2016, and had such an amazing time I visiting places that I hadn’t been to in a while:

img_1721

Laguna Chicabal, one of my favorite places.

img_1779

Hiking from Xela to Lake Atitlán with Quetzaltrekkers.  Photo: Abby Price (our awesome guide)

img_1740

It got pretty cold at night during the hike!

Leander Khil

The beautiful trail at Semuc Champey.  Photo: Leander Khil

Leander Khil

The water was lovely!  Photo: Leander Khil

Leander Khil

I missed the tropical rainforest.  Photo: Leander Khil

img_1852

The Ceiba Tree ❤️

img_1899

And, of course, Tikal.

IMG_1768.JPG

I had fun being a Wild Thing.

It was a good reminder: I love to travel.  (There’s even this ExOfficio video about how much I love to travel.)  I grew roots, and that’s great, but that doesn’t mean I can’t get out more just to “travel for the sake of traveling.”  Right?

2017 – I’m looking forward to the adventures that lay ahead.  Because I still get Wanderlust, and I think that’s just part of me forever.

 

XOXO,

Mari

Leave a Reply

