Mari’s article featured on Birds of a Thread!

Getting personal and opinionated again, but now on ethical fashion blog Birds of a Thread.  I’m having another inspiration spurt, with lots of thoughts that just need to come out.  Thank you to Jacqui from Birds of a Thread for allowing me to reach out to her audience with my reflections for this piece.

People often ask me what I studied, expecting it be some sort of design, I guess.  Well, I didn’t.  But maybe this post will shine a light on how I first became interested in having my own ethical brand.  I love creating beautiful things, but more than that, I believe in working with artisans for sustainable development, especially in such a complicated country like Guatemala.

Kakaw Designs with partner weavers

Maybe even with the endless opportunities in life, there might be a few apples that don’t fall far from the tree. Maybe there might even be a few apples that are more innovative, and can transform the rural artisan life into something new. We won’t know until we get there, but the best we can do right now is to continue supporting these traditions.

Make sure to read the full article!

 

XOXO,

Mari

One thought on “Mari’s article featured on Birds of a Thread!

Leave a Reply

