Sweet Thursday: Sweet Leah

This week’s treat: Leah from Roanoke, Virginia.
Leah and I met when she was in Guatemala earlier this year.  We got to talking, it didn’t take long for me to see how cool she was, with her knitting projects and riding horses (probably not at the same time).  Leah, you’re awesome and you look gorgeous in your Macaw Boots!Leah horse 2
 1. What brought you to Guatemala, and how was your experience?
I’ve been going to Guatemala for the past five years and spending time in a community in Chichicastenango. My college church at Florida State has been involved with a church there and its community. There is now a community center built there for the church and the residents and sometimes FSU students will stay there for a few months to hang out with the community and build up their spanish language skills. I have made some great relationships there and it was really cool bringing my husband for the first time and introducing him to some of the people who knew me before I was married.
 Leah horse 3
2. Where is your next dream destination, if you could go anywhere in the world?  Why?
I would love to go back to Rome. I thrive in places filled with history, that breathe life into our busy world by standing the test of time.
3. What makes you happy?
What makes me happy is being there for someone in a time of need. I am in school for Occupational Therapy, which is therapy for the upper body. This includes incidents that have impaired a persons ability to care for themselves or changed the way they  live/work/play, and get them to a place that they can function independently and live a full life. Our dog Bear is going to be trained as a therapy dog so that I can take him to work everyday and encourage patients in their therapy. Watching him bring joy to people makes me so happy and I can’t wait for him to help people during vulnerable times in their lives.
4. How do you rock your Macaw Boots?
Jeans, a leather jacket from Rome, and a cowl-wrap I made (similarly to the wrap Jennifer Lawrence wears in Catching Fire, it’s corny but it was a school project and it’s awesome!).
Leah horse 1
Leave a Reply

